Oulun yliopiston ylioppilaskunta

Halloped information system

Chair of the Doctoral Students’ Section / Member of the UniOGS Management GroupModified 2020-05-28 08:47


Oulun yliopiston ylioppilaskunta


2020-01-01 - 2020-12-31

Manager :

The chair directs the activities of the Doctoral Students’ Section of the Student Union at the University of Oulu according to its strategy and annual action plan. The Doctoral Students’ Section is the collective voice and community of doctoral students across disciplines. The Section watches over University decision-making and doctoral training practices, proactively advocates doctoral students’ interests and well-being, and promotes doctoral students’ awareness of their rights and their ways of influencing University decision-making. The Section fosters a sense of belongingness and unity among doctoral students.

The Doctoral Students’ Section gathers approximately once in 1-2 months to discuss doctoral students’ points of view concerning the development of doctoral training. The task of the student representatives is to take doctoral students’ proposals and opinions forward. The Section also organizes events for doctoral students.

The chair calls the meetings of the Doctoral Students’ Section, prepares the topics to be handled and leads the discussion. The chair is also responsible of the communications of the Section, the collaboration between doctoral student representatives and organizing events with other active doctoral students in the Section. The chair is the primary contact person towards doctoral students, the University and other stakeholders.

The chair is the member of the UniOGS Management Group. The task of the UniOGS Management Group is to support the dean of UniOGS in leading and developing doctoral training and implementing the strategy of the University. The Management Group discusses e.g. the development of doctoral training processes, admission times and admission criteria and the amount of travel grants. Meetings are held approximately seven times per year.

Current student representatives

Riikka Tumelius

2020-01-01 - 2020-12-31

No deputy


University representatives